Where we live!

download Where we live!

of 14

  • date post

  • Category


  • view

  • download


Embed Size (px)

Transcript of Where we live!

  • 1. HERE WE ARE

2. Republic of PolandCoat of arms FlagDbrowskis Mazurka, or "Poland Is Not Yet Lost" 3. Capital (and the largest city) Warsaw 5213N 2102E / 52.217, 21.033Official languages - Polish Government Parliamentary republic President Bronisaw KomorowskiPrime Minister - Donald TuskFormation - Christianisation 14 April 966 Redeclared 11 November 1918 EU accession 1 May 2004 Area - Total 312,679kmPopulation - 38,116,000 4. Warsaw- the capital of Poland. The tourists can visit Kings Palace, The Houses ofParliament, Belweder (the seat of the president), The Big Theatre, The Palace of Culture- clearly visible in the background. 5. Krakow The two places that come to most peoples minds when they think of Poland are Warsawand Cracow. Cracow, Polands forth largest city, is now well known as the tourist centre of Poland.Here you can visit Wawel- the kings castle, Marjacki Church with the altar, sukiennicy- old shopping area and Kociuszkos tomb. 6. Gdansk is located on the baltic coast and the Polish maritime capital. It has apopulation of nearly half a million. It is an important centre of economic life, science, culture, and a popular tourist destination. Gdansk is the largest cityand capital of the Pomeranian province and an important administration centre. 7. Masuria is an area in northeastern Poland famous for its lakes and forests. Masuria, became part of Poland in 1945. The name Masuria for the region was coined in Prussia describing the Mazurianethnic group, Polish settlers from Masovia who had continuously trickled in. 8. Szczecin is a city with a population of around 400,000, situated in the north-west of Poland, wherethe river Odra meets the Baltic Sea (through Szczecin Bay). For centuries this location has been at the centre of European transit routes, from the west to the east and from the north, through theBaltic, to the south of Europe. Szczecin is also the capital of the Western Pomeranian Province. 9. The Tatra Mountains, Tatras or Tatra (Tatry in both Polish and Slovak), constitute a mountain range which forms a natural border between Slovakia and Poland. They occupy an area of 750 km, the major part (600km) of which lies in Slovakia. Thehighest mountain is Gerlach at 2,655 m, located in Slovakia. The north-western peak ofRysy (2,499 m) is the highest Polish mountain. 10. Wrocaw is the chief city of the historical region in south-western Poland, situated on the Oder river. In 1945, the city became part of Poland once more following the PotsdamAgreement. Since 1999 it has been the capital of Lower Silesian province. 11. Bieszczady, or Bieszczadzkie Mountains is the Polish name of the western partof what the Polish call Eastern Besids. It is a part of the Carpathian Mountains. These mountains are the part of Podkarpacki province, in which we live. 12. Yeahhhhh!!!!HEREWE ARE ! 13. The place where