Doing nothing - Passive behavior - Discounting (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative...

Click here to load reader

  • date post

    12-May-2015
  • Category

    Education

  • view

    301
  • download

    1

Embed Size (px)

description

A person exhibiting doing nothing passive behavior feels uncomfortable and experiences himself as not thinking. He is discounting his own ability to do anything about the situation.

Transcript of Doing nothing - Passive behavior - Discounting (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative...

  • 1.Doing Nothing

2. Prepared By Manu Melwin Joy Research Scholar School of Management Studies CUSAT, Kerala, India. Phone 9744551114 Mail [email protected] Kindly restrict the use of slides for personal purpose. Please seek permission to reproduce the same in public forms and presentations. 3. Passive behaviors When I discount, I do so by making statement to myself in my own head. Thus a discount itself is not observable. Since you cant thought read, you have no way of knowing I am discounting unless I speak or act in some way which indicates the presence of the discount. 4. Passive behaviors There are four types of behavior which always indicate that the person concerned is discounting. They are Doing nothing. Over adaptation. Agitation. Incapacitation or violence. 5. Doing nothing The members of a TA group are sitting in a circle. The group leader says : Lets go round the group and each person say what he or she appreciates or resents about todays session. If you dont want to take part, its OK to say Pass. The exercise begins. People round the group each give an appreciation or resentment. One or two say Pass. 6. Doing nothing Then came Normans turn. There is a silence. People waited for Norman to say something but he doesnt. He sits unmoving and silent, staring into space. Since he doesnt seem to want to speak any appreciation or resentment, the person next to him waits for him to say Pass. But Norman doesnt do that either. He continues to sit as if dumb. 7. Doing nothing Norman is showing the passive behavior called doing nothing. Instead of using energy to take problem solving action, he is using into to stop himself from acting. A person exhibiting this passive behavior feels uncomfortable and experiences himself as not thinking. He is discounting his own ability to do anything about the situation. 8. Thank You 9. Other TA topics available on slideshare 1. Strokes - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/strokes-24081607. 2. Games People Play - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/psychological- games-people-play. 3. Structural Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/the-ego-state-model. 4. What is TA? - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/what-ta-is 5. Cycles of Development - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/cycles-of- developement-pamela-levin-transactional-analysis. 6. Stages of Cure - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stages-of-cure. 7. Transactions - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/transactions-33677298. 8. Time Structuring - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/time-structuring. 9. Life Position - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/life-position. 10. Autonomy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/autonomy-33690557. 11. Structural Pathology - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/structural-pathology. 12. Game Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/game-analysis-33725636. 13. Integrated Adult - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/integrated-adult. 14. Stroke Economy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stroke-economy- 33826702.