Constancy hypothesis (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative approach to the theory of...

download Constancy hypothesis (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative approach to the theory of psychology and psychotherapy)

of 11

  • date post

    12-May-2015
  • Category

    Education

  • view

    687
  • download

    3

Embed Size (px)

description

Jack Dusay suggested a constancy hypothesis - When one ego state increases in intensity, another or others must decrease in order to compensate. The shift in psychic energy occurs so that the total amount of energy may remain constant.

Transcript of Constancy hypothesis (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative approach to the theory of...

  • 1.Constancy Hypothesis

2. Prepared By Manu Melwin Joy Research Scholar School of Management Studies CUSAT, Kerala, India. Phone 9744551114 Mail manu_melwinjoy@yahoo.com Kindly restrict the use of slides for personal purpose. Please seek permission to reproduce the same in public forms and presentations. 3. Constancy Hypothesis Jack Dusay suggested a constancy hypothesis. When one ego state increases in intensity, another or others must decrease in order to compensate. The shift in psychic energy occurs so that the total amount of energy may remain constant. 4. Constancy Hypothesis The best way to change my ego gram, says Dusay, is to set about raising the part I want to have more of. When I do so, energy will automatically shift out of other parts I want to have relatively less of. 5. Constancy Hypothesis Suppose I look at my ego gram and decide I would like to be more in Nurturing Parent and less in Controlling Parent, I begin practicing more in Nurturing Parent Behaviors. Perhaps I offer someone a back rub once each day or at work I experiment with making open offers of guidance instead of ordering people to do things. 6. Constancy Hypothesis I dont make any attempt to cut down my Controlling Parent behavior. By the constancy Hypothesis, I can expect this will go down anyway as I put more energy into Nurturing Parent. 7. Activity Is there anything you want to change about your ego gram? If there is, decide which bar you need to raise to achieve this change. 8. Activity List at least five new behaviors which you can practice to increase this ego state part. Make a point of doing these behaviors in the week following. 9. Activity Then re-draw your ego gram If possible, get a re- drawn ego gram from the person who knows you well. Does your new ego gram fit constancy hypothesis 10. Thank You 11. Other TA topics available on slideshare 1. Strokes - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/strokes-24081607. 2. Games People Play - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/psychological- games-people-play. 3. Structural Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/the-ego-state-model. 4. What is TA? - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/what-ta-is 5. Cycles of Development - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/cycles-of- developement-pamela-levin-transactional-analysis. 6. Stages of Cure - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stages-of-cure. 7. Transactions - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/transactions-33677298. 8. Time Structuring - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/time-structuring. 9. Life Position - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/life-position. 10. Autonomy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/autonomy-33690557. 11. Structural Pathology - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/structural-pathology. 12. Game Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/game-analysis-33725636. 13. Integrated Adult - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/integrated-adult. 14. Stroke Economy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stroke-economy- 33826702.