Areas of discounting (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative approach to the theory of...

Click here to load reader

  • date post

    12-May-2015
  • Category

    Education

  • view

    352
  • download

    4

Embed Size (px)

description

Discounting results in unresolved problems. There are three areas in which people can discount: Self, Others and Situation.

Transcript of Areas of discounting (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative approach to the theory of...

  • 1.Areas of discounting

2. Prepared By Manu Melwin Joy Research Scholar School of Management Studies CUSAT, Kerala, India. Phone 9744551114 Mail [email protected] Kindly restrict the use of slides for personal purpose. Please seek permission to reproduce the same in public forms and presentations. 3. Discount Matrix Discounting results in unresolved problems. Thus, if we can devise a systematic way of identifying the nature and intensity of discounting, we will have a powerful tool for problem solving. Such a tool is called discount matrix. 4. Discount Matrix Discount matrix was developed by Ken Mellor and Eric Sigmund. The discount matrix starts from the idea that we classify discounts according to three different criteria. Area. Type. Level. 5. Areas of discounting There are three areas in which people can discount: Self. Others. Situation. 6. Areas of discounting In the example, When I was sitting in the restaurant dropping because the waiter wasnt bringing my glass of water, I was discounting myself. I was ignoring my own ability to take action to get what I wanted. 7. Areas of discounting My friend who got angry and started criticizing the waiter, was discounting not himself but the other person. In judging the waiter incompetent, hew was blanking out any aspects of the waiters actions that might have contradicted his criticism. 8. Areas of discounting Suppose that after drooping for a while, I did turned to my friend and said: Well, there we are. It really isnt fair that these other people are getting served and I am not. But then, this world is an unfair place, isnt it? Here, I did have been discounting the situation. 9. Thank you 10. Other TA topics available on slideshare 1. Strokes - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/strokes-24081607. 2. Games People Play - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/psychological- games-people-play. 3. Structural Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/the-ego-state-model. 4. What is TA? - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/what-ta-is 5. Cycles of Development - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/cycles-of- developement-pamela-levin-transactional-analysis. 6. Stages of Cure - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stages-of-cure. 7. Transactions - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/transactions-33677298. 8. Time Structuring - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/time-structuring. 9. Life Position - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/life-position. 10. Autonomy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/autonomy-33690557. 11. Structural Pathology - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/structural-pathology. 12. Game Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/game-analysis-33725636. 13. Integrated Adult - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/integrated-adult. 14. Stroke Economy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stroke-economy- 33826702.