Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American...

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Paul Gillin Measuring Social ROI: The CIO’s Role Author: The New Influencers Secrets of Social Media Marketing Social Marketing to the Business Customer

Transcript of Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American...

Page 1: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Paul Gillin

Measuring Social ROI: The CIO’s Role

Author:

The New Influencers

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Social Marketing to the Business Customer

Page 2: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style Time is Right

37%

81% 58% 65% 68% 65%

67% 84%

37% 30% 28% 30% 29%

53%

17% 13%

2% 10% 4% 6% 4% 5% 4% 2%

0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100% 120%

Increased market share Decreased costs Improved talent retention Improved speed to market/innovation Improved product/service quality Improved collaboration with partners Improved brand or stock value Improved marketing/sales effectiveness

Advantage No Impact Disadvantage

Source: Economist Intelligence Unit Survey of 329 Business Leaders, 2012

Perceived Value of Social Business

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Click to edit Master title style Just Another Channel?

Marketing and branding 41%

Marketing Communications (e.g., Public Relations) 40%

Distributed throughout the organization 17%

Sales 16%

Customer service 11%

Education and Training 7%

Human Resource 10%

6% Centre of Excellence

Research and Development (R&D) 8%

Who Has Primary Responsibility for Social Business

Source: Economist Intelligence Unit

Survey of 329 Business Leaders, 2012

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17%

81% agree that social engagement has tangible benefits

• Project management • Innovation • Collaboration • Efficiency gains • Cost savings

Yet only 17% have responsibility well-

distributed throughout the organization

Executives See Greatest Benefit of social engagement in…

Source: Economist Intelligence Unit

Survey of 329 Business Leaders, 2012

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Twitter: @pgillin

How We Share Influence

Consumer influence channels

Source: Universal McCann Erickson

PRE MEDIA AGE

Talk face to face

Talk to shop worker

SOCIAL MEDIA AGE

Personal blog

Social network page

Widgets

Photo sharing site

Chat rooms

Message boards

Video sharing site

Comments on blogs

Comments on websites

Viral emails

Wish lists

Ratings on retail sites

Reviews on retail sites

Auction websites

Social Bookmarking

Chat room

Price comparison sites

Social shopping sites

Consult a professional

Readers Letters

Phone in; TV / Radio

Talk to shop worker

Talk face to face

Phone call

SMS

Email

Instant Messenger

MASS MEDIA AGE

Consult a professional

Readers letters

Phone in; TV / Radio

Talk to shop worker

Talk face to face

Phone call

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Twitter: @pgillin

Customer Service Matters

Service Topic Consumers who have not used social media for customer service

General population

Consumers who have used social media for customer service

Additional amount consumers will spend for excellent service

11% 13% more 21% more

Have not completed intended purchase because of poor customer experience, previous 12 months

49% 55% 83%

Number of people customers tell about good customer service experience

9 15 42

Number of people customers tell about poor customer service experience

17 24 53

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“Companies that are highly effective communicators

had 47% higher total returns to shareholders over the

last five years compared with firms that are the least

effective communicators.”

Towers Watson 2009/2010 Communication

ROI Study Report

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“Our data show that fully networked

enterprises are not only more likely to be

market leaders or to be gaining market share

but also use management practices that lead

to margins higher than those of companies

using the Web in more limited ways.”

McKinsey 2010 survey of 3,249 executives

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Service With a Smile

• 55% of respondents became a customer of a

company because of its reputation for great

customer service

• 40% began purchasing from a competitive brand

simply because of their reputation for great

customer service

• 85% of consumers said they would be willing to pay

more over the standard price in order to ensure a

superior customer experience.

- RightNow Technologies 2010 Survey of

2,217 North American consumers

Page 10: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Responsibility distributed throughout the organization

Responsibility assigned to one department

There are business benefits to encouraging customers to talk publicly – whether

positive or negative 81% agree

67% agree

Source: Economist Intelligence Unit

Survey of 329 Business Leaders, 2012

Page 11: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Adoption of social channels is strong; with 59% of

organizations having adopted Twitter and 60%

adopting Facebook, and almost 85% of those who

have adopted one, have adopted both together.

However, adoption seems to have been the easy

part. Justification, integration, and strategic

measurement continue to be the most challenging

aspects of implementing new social channels.

- ThinkJar/Sword Ciboodle

survey of 400 customer

service practitioners, 2012

Page 12: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Disconnect

0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100%

Other

Analysts and pundits

Customer co-creation

Consultants/integrators

Customer research

Internal team

When selecting a new channel for customer service, who drives the decision?

Source: ThinkJar/Sword Ciboodle, 2012

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0

2

4

6

8

10

2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011

Social Media Crises Reaching Mainstream Media

Facebook 14%

Community

22%

Twitter 18%

Blog 20%

YouTube 22%

Other 4%

Where Crises Originate

Data source: Altimeter Group, 2011

Companies are quick to deploy the

latest social media technology, yet

most have not prepared for the

threat of social media crises…we

found that more than three-fourths

could have been diminished or

averted. --Altimeter Group

New Channels of Complaint

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Twitter: @pgillin

Hot Prospects

Qualified Prospects

Suspects

New Clients

The Sales Funnel

Image Credit: Retail Sales Systems, LLC

Page 15: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style Flipping the Funnel

15

Respond & Iterate

Invite Engagement

Listen

Go Where the People Are

Page 16: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

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Source: Monitor

And Flattening It

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Twitter: @pgillin @pgillin

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Today, Integration Means “Everything”

0

25

50

75

100

Value of Specific Marketing Communications Programs

Public Relations

Internet Word of Mouth/Viral

In-store/ Point of Sale

Direct response advertising

Social Networking

Mobile Marketing

General Advertising

Search Engine Marketing

Sales Promotion

Event Marketing

Sponsorship Branded Entertainment

Videogame Advertising

10 of 14 achieved 50% top 2 box score

Source: Association of National Advertisers, 2010

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Room for Improvement

0%

5%

10%

15%

20%

25%

30%

Social NetworkMarketing

MobileAdvertising

EmailMarketing

Direct mailmarketing

% of Companies Measuring ROI

Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012

Page 20: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style Opportunities in Listening

Quora LinkedIn Answers

Page 21: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

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Twitter: @pgillin

38 Minutes on Twitter

Page 23: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style What We Usually Measure

Hits

Visits

Bookmarks

Unique Visitors

Page Views

Likes Followers

Traffic

Clicks

These Indicate

Activity but NOT

Engagement

Page 24: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style Terms of Engagement

Repeat Visits

Shares

Bookmarks

Subscriptions

Employment applications

Retweets Comments

Downloads

Forwards Pages/visit

Reviews Phone calls

Lead forms

Ratings

Page 25: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style Measuring the Immeasurable

Lift Studies

Store visits

Headline Counts

Employment applications

Speaking Invitations

Net Promoter Score Coupons redeemed

If You Can Measure It,

You Can Calculate Its ROI

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March 30

Prospect reaches website through search query "small business accounting," views four pages and subscribes to

newsletter.

April 4

Prospect responds to e-mail invitation for "Choosing Small

Business Accounting Software" webcast 30 minutes after e-mail

is sent.

April 9

Prospect attends webcast, stays 45 minutes and submits a

question related to legal practices.

April 10

Prospect clicks link in webcast summary e-mail to visit product description page. He downloads PDF of product brochure about

software for legal practices.

April 12

Prospect downloads trial version of your small business accounting software for legal

practices.

Oh, the Things That You Know!

Thanks to Web Analytics…

Page 27: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style ERP for Marketing

Page 28: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style CRM Goes Social

Page 29: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style Stagger Activities

White Paper Promotion Timeline

Task Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

Home page link

E-mail newsletter

E-mail blast

Blog promotion

Twitter messaging

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Click to edit Master title style Look for Impact

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Twitter: @pgillin

Lead Gen Excellence

73 blogs

17 bloggers

600% jump in

leads

Top quality

“Get engineers talking to engineers and get everyone else out of the

middle.”

Rick Short, Marcom Director

@pgillin

Page 32: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style A Reader is a Lead

Each blog has the

option to ask a

question of the

engineer

@pgillin

Page 33: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style Basic Business Metrics

Lifetime Value of a Customer =

(Longevity * Revenue) * Margin

Conversion Rate = New Customers/

Visits or Leads

Value of a Lead/Visitor =

Visitor * Conversion Rate * Lifetime

Value

Page 34: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style OK, Let’s Make it Real

Typical customer Curly spends

$10,000/year with you

Curly is with you for five years

Your profit margin is 10%

Lifetime value of Curly is

($10,000 * 5) * .1 = $5,000

Page 35: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style Applying ROI: Value of a Visitor

Monthly Visitors 10,000

Conversion Rate .5%

Lifetime Value $5,000

Calculation (10,000 * .005 * 5)/10,000

Value of a Visitor

$25

Page 36: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style Value of a Blog

Monthly Search Traffic 3,000

Estimated Traffic w/Blog 4,000

Value of a Visitor $25

Monthly Value of a Blog $25,000

Monthly Blog Expense $6,000

ROI ($25,000-$6,000)/$6,000 316%

Page 37: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

Click to edit Master title style Value of Twitter

You send 50 tweets a month…

Generating 1,000 visitors to

your website…

2% of whom become leads…

5% of whom become

customers.

Therefore, the value of a tweet is:

(1,000 * .02 * .05 * 5000)/50 = $100

Page 38: Measuring Social ROI · % of Companies Measuring ROI Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012 . ... Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing . ...

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Twitter: @pgillin

Paul Gillin

508-656-0734

[email protected]

Site: gillin.com

Blog: paulgillin.com

Twitter: pgillin

Thank You!