Types of discounting (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative approach to the theory of...

download Types of discounting (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative approach to the theory of psychology and psychotherapy)

of 12

  • date post

    29-May-2015
  • Category

    Education

  • view

    269
  • download

    0

Embed Size (px)

description

Discounting results in unresolved problems. The three types of discounting are of: Stimuli, Problems and Options.

Transcript of Types of discounting (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative approach to the theory of...

  • 1. Types of discounting

2. Prepared By Manu Melwin Joy Research Scholar School of Management Studies CUSAT, Kerala, India. Phone 9744551114 Mail manu_melwinjoy@yahoo.com Kindly restrict the use of slides for personal purpose. Please seek permission to reproduce the same in public forms and presentations. 3. Discount Matrix Discounting results in unresolved problems. Thus, if we can devise a systematic way of identifying the nature and intensity of discounting, we will have a powerful tool for problem solving. Such a tool is called discount matrix. 4. Discount Matrix Discount matrix was developed by Ken Mellor and Eric Sigmund. The discount matrix starts from the idea that we classify discounts according to three different criteria. Area. Type. Level. 5. Types of discounting The three types of discounting are of: Stimuli. Problems. Options. 6. Discounting - Stimulus To discount a stimulus is to blank out perception that something is happening at all. As I sat in the restaurant, I might simply not have allowed myself to feel that I was thirsty. 7. Discounting - Stimulus I would have been discounting the stimulus of my own thirst. Maybe my friend, in calling the waiter incompetent, had not seen the way in which the waiter had actually succeeded in serving many other customers, even though the evidence was right there in front of him. 8. Discounting - Problem The person who discounts a problem realizes that something is happening, but ignores the fact that whatever is happening poses a problem. Feeling thirsty there in the restaurant, I might have said to my friend, I feel very thirsty right now, but, oh well, it doesnt matter. 9. Discounting - Options When discounting options, the person is aware that something is happening and that it constitutes a problem. But she blanks out the possibility that anything can be done about the problem. That is where I was discounting in the original version of the restaurant scene. 10. Discounting - Options As I sat drooping, I knew that I felt thirsty. I was aware that my thirst was a problem to me. But I was unawarely ignoring the many options I had, other than just sitting and hoping the waiter to respond. 11. Thank you 12. Other TA topics available on slideshare 1. Strokes - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/strokes-24081607. 2. Games People Play - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/psychological- games-people-play. 3. Structural Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/the-ego-state-model. 4. What is TA? - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/what-ta-is 5. Cycles of Development - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/cycles-of- developement-pamela-levin-transactional-analysis. 6. Stages of Cure - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stages-of-cure. 7. Transactions - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/transactions-33677298. 8. Time Structuring - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/time-structuring. 9. Life Position - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/life-position. 10. Autonomy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/autonomy-33690557. 11. Structural Pathology - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/structural-pathology. 12. Game Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/game-analysis-33725636. 13. Integrated Adult - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/integrated-adult. 14. Stroke Economy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stroke-economy- 33826702.