Small Business Guide to Content Strategy

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Transcript of Small Business Guide to Content Strategy

Page 1: Small Business Guide to Content Strategy
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What is Content Strategy?

“Planning for the creation, delivery, and governance of useful, usable content.”

-Kristina Halvorson, Brain Traffic

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In Other Words…It’s A Map

Credit: U.S. Army Europe Images

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The map that leads to you users

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Strategy MattersAlignment builds trust

Users know what to expect and what comes next

Resources used most effectively & efficiently

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No Shirt, No Shoes, No ContentContent creation without strategy lacks theme & purpose

Lack of purpose confuses your audience

Confused audiences don’t convert

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Don’t Waste Resources

Credit: Grant Hutchinson on Flickr

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Good Content Is…Useful

Solves a problem

Has context

Considerate

Consistent

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If there’s no substance…you’re just creating noise.

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Generic Gets Overlooked• People don’t pay more for generic

• People don’t get excited about generic

• People don’t share average, they share greatness

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Developing Your Content Strategy

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Allocate A Budget & Timeline

Like any company initiative, this is going to take time and resources.

Plan for it.

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What Are You Budgeting For?• Content audit

• Analytics review

• Identification of problems

• Smart guesses

• Experiments

• User testing

• Evaluation

• Implementation

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Forecasting & Projections

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Start With Where You Win

A small catering company has a 50% conversion rate for calls about their funeral luncheons.

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What Comes Before That?

Current website generates 5 calls per month.

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Lead Value

Average order value x conversion rate = lead value

$1000 x 50% = $500

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Content Value

average # of leads x average lead value

5 x $500 = $2500

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Estimating The Value Of Improvements

Content isn’t magic - use realistic estimates

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Quantifying The Possible Impact

Landing page redesign to get 2 more calls each month.

Two new leads = $1000/month incremental value

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Costs: Content Creation Isn’t Free

Time x Resources = Cost of Content

6 hours x $50/hr = $300

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Net Upside$1000 - $300

= $700 first month + $1000/month thereafter

…and that’s for just one landing page

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What If It Doesn’t Work?

Maximum Gain - estimated amount you’ll save

Maximum Loss - what it costs to create/fix the content

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Calculating Probability of SuccessMax Loss: Estimate of project cost x probability of failure

$600 x 25% = $150

Max Gain: Estimated gain x probability of success $800 x 75% = $600

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When you add up all the potential savings, it’s easier to understand where Content Strategy fits in your budget.

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Set ObjectivesDefine what you want to accomplish

Set realistic goals & stretch goals

Plan how you’ll measure

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Research, Research, Research

Market, user, and competitive research

Quantitative and qualitative Data

Get used to asking WHY

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User Stories

Who’s the user?

What do they want?

Why?

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Content Audit

There are tons of templates available online - choose what makes sense for your biz, your goals,

and your budget.

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Fix What Needs FixingDoes it match the audience wants/needs?

Is it clear, easy to follow, and understandable?

Does it make it easy for the reader to take the next step?

Is it accurate and up-to-date?

Can we do better?

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Find The Gaps

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Client: Grieving Martha

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Flesh Out Your Content Map

Remember the map - how do your customers get from point A to point B?

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Plan For Different Types Of ContentPages

Blog posts

Product listings

Landing pages

Social Images

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Include In Your Content PlanWho are we creating this for?

What do we want them to get out of it?

Where is it going to be posted?

When is it going to be published?

Why are we doing this?

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Outline Your New ContentPrimary message

Target audience

Key terminology

Supporting messaging

Voice & tone

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Create Your Editorial CalendarCoSchedule

http://coschedule.com/editorial-calendar-template

HubSpot http://offers.hubspot.com/blog-editorial-calendar

Vertical Measures http://www.verticalmeasures.com/content-editorial-calendar-template/

Google Docs templates https://drive.google.com/templates?q=editorial+calendar&ddrp=1

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Measure, Analyze, IterateRemember those objectives we started with?

Compare your performance to your goals.

Did it work? Why or why not?

Do it again or try something new.

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Questions?@jenjamar

[email protected]