Sem for PPC Introduction - Sam Owen at IU

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An Introduction to PPC Advertising

description

A brief introduction to the world of PPC aimed at college students with a broad interest in advertising or marketing. This presentation looks at the different fields of SEM, some of the basics of PPC and what skills to develop to get your foot in the door.

Transcript of Sem for PPC Introduction - Sam Owen at IU

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An Introduction to PPC Advertising

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Today’s Class

• What is PPC?• General principles• How to get into PPC• Technicalities/Specifics• Creating a strategy• Measuring success• Ethical issues

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What is PPC?

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An Introduction to PPC

PPC stands for “Pay Per Click” Marketing.

Differentiates from traditional media buys, where you pay for a number of impressions, be it in a magazine, a TV ad, or on the internet.

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Acronym Jungle

• PPC• CPC• CPM• SEM• C/R• CTR• CPA / CPL

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Acronym Jungle

• PPC – Pay Per Click• CPC – Cost Per Click• CPM – Cost Per Mille (Thousand Impressions)• SEM – Search Engine Marketing• C/R – Conversion Rate• CTR – Click-Through Rate• CPA / CPL – Cost Per Acquisition / Lead

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Search Network Ads

Paid Ads

Organic Results

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Search Network Ads

Largest US Search Engines:1. Google2. Bing3. Yahoo4. Ask5. AOL

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Search Network Ads

Largest US Search Engines:1. Google – 66.7%2. Bing – 17.9%3. Yahoo – 11.4%4. Ask – 2.7%5. AOL – 1.3%

Source – comScore Core Search Share Report July 2013

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Display Network Ads

Display / Image Ads

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Display Network Ads

Display / Image Ads

Google Display Network:• 180 Billion Monthly Ad

Impressions• $3 Billion per quarter revenue• 0.1% CTRs• $0.75 average CPC• About 20% of online conversions

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Where our clients’ money goes

85%

8%4% 3%

Google AdWordsBingFacebookOther

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Top AdWords Spenders

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Search Engine Marketing

Branches of SEM:• PPC – Pay Per Click• SEO – Search Engine Optimization• CRO – Conversion Rate Optimization• Social Media – Twitter, Facebook etc.

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SEO

• Search Engine Optimization is the process of trying to get your website to rank higher on Google (or other search engines)

• The higher you rank, the more people come to your website

• The more people come to your website, the more money you make

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SEO

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CRO

“Conversion Rate Optimization” is a name given to the process of making a website generate more conversions from existing traffic.– CRO is Amazon’s bread and butter

Spend/CPC * Conversion Rate = Leads

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Social Media

• Reaching out to customers & forming relationships

• Improving brand awareness and reputation• Working as a backup customer service

• Not the same as advertising on Facebook or Twitter, which still falls under PPC.

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General Principles

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PPC

• Ads• Bids• Targets– Keywords– Websites– Location– Time– Device

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Ad Rank

Why does this ad appear above that ad?

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The Auction

Source: http://searchengineland.com/new-adwords-ad-ranking-formula-what-does-it-mean-174946

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The Auction

Source: http://searchengineland.com/new-adwords-ad-ranking-formula-what-does-it-mean-174946

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The Auction

Source: http://searchengineland.com/new-adwords-ad-ranking-formula-what-does-it-mean-174946

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What Is Quality Score?

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PPC Specifics

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Account Structure

My Client CenterAccount

CampaignsAd Groups

Keywords & Ads

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Keywords

• How you actually target users searching Googleo [exact match]o “phrase match”o +broad +matcho -negative match

• Search Query =/= Keyword

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Keywords

• How do we know which keywords to bid on?– Common sense / brainstorming– Use tools like the Google Keyword Planner

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Bids

• Bid on a keyword level• Set bids to maximize clicks on keywords that

drive sales/sign ups• Use different tools to help us set bids:– Excel– Automated Software– AdWords Rules

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Bids

Calculating a bid:• Bid = Target Cost Per Lead x Conversion Rate

Example: The keyword [ppc management company] has a conversion rate of 0.5% and a lead is worth $200 to Hanapin.

Our bid should be $200 x 0.5% = $1

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Bid Adjustments

• Time of day– Reduce bids 50% from midnight to 6am

• Device Type– Reduce bids 10% for mobile users

• Geography– Increase bids 25% for users within 50 miles of

Bloomington, IN

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Ads

High click-through rates = good Google Quality Scores

Temptation to overpromise = low conversion rates

Need to find the middle ground:• A good hook (such as a catchy headline)• Proof• Trust• Benefits

Create a feature/benefit matrix

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Ads

A Google Search ad:• Has a 25 character headline limit• Two 35 character description lines• One 35 character Display URL• One 2048 character Destination URL

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Ads

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Which ad did better?

Source: http://boostctr.com/blog

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Which ad did better?

200% Higher

CTR

Source: http://boostctr.com/blog

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Which ad did better?

Source: http://boostctr.com/blog

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Which ad did better?

50% Higher

CTR

Source: http://boostctr.com/blog

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Which ad did better?

Ad A Ad B

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Which ad did better?

Ad A Ad B

57% Higher

CTR

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Ad Testing

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Measuring Success

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Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)

What is the goal of your account?1. Direct Response2. Brand Awareness

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Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)

Typical Direct Response KPIs:• Conversions• Cost Per Conversion (CPA)• Revenue• Return on Ad Spend (ROAS)• Leads• Return on Investment (ROI)

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Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)

Typical Brand Awareness KPIs:• Impressions• Clicks• Bounce Rate• Average Time On Site

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Conversion Tracking

• Conversions are typically tracked as a pageview of an important page

• Placing a small code snippet on these pages• Phone tracking systems link back to custom

tags

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Creating a Strategy

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PPC Strategy

What is the goal of your account?1. Direct Response2. Brand Awareness

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Budget?

How much money do we have for PPC?1. Unlimited as long as hitting goals?2. Limits set by client for overall spend3. Divide up budget to promote more profitable

campaigns

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Market

Google Trends:• Seasonality• Long term

How much are CPCs? What do you expect your Conversion Rate to be?

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Goals?

Sales?Calls?Sign Ups?Free Trials?Twitter followers?

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Marketing Mix

Where does PPC fit into the company’s overall marketing plan?• Main driver of traffic• Ancillary source of sales

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Ethical Issues?

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Retargeting

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Retargeting

• When you visit a site, you get a Google cookie• Advertisers can use that cookie to show you

ads on the Google Display Network (Google Remarketing) and Google Search Network (Remarketing for Search)

• Remarketing is popular because it normally has crazy good ROIs

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Data Privacy

• Websites can track data through tools such as Google Analytics

• Access to search data is anonymous but intrusive

• What stats do sites keep about you?• Tends to be overblown with the media -

Analytics data is anonymous and most advertisers don’t care about an individual user, so much as the overall trends.

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Advice for getting into online advertising

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My Background

• History degree from University of Warwick• Job through a friend. Had never heard of PPC

or SEO until then• Big fan of the PPC Hero blog• Moved to US in 2011 – joined Hanapin a few

months after

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Read Blogs!

There are no experts in online advertising:

• searchengineland.com• adwords.blogspot.com• ppchero.com• moz.com/blog (SEO)• boostctr.com/blog (ad copy)• 3qdigital.com/blog• www.clixmarketing.com/blog• Book – Advanced Google AdWords – Brad Geddes (available on Amazon)

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Become a master of Excel!

• 90% of PPC Analysis can be done with Pivot Tables

• Building out accounts is mostly done with Excel & AdWords Editor

• Writing ads mostly done in Excel so we can use =LEN( function to make sure we don’t go over character limits

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Get Certified

Google Certified PartnersGoogle AdWords Qualified Professional Exams• One fundamentals exam• One specialist exam

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