ModevCon: Monetizing Your App Beyond Banner Ads, Sponsored App Installs, and In-app Purchases

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Mobile Search 1 Monetizing Your App Beyond Banner Ads, Sponsored App Installs, and In-app Purchases Deepak Thakral Vice President, Monetization Email: [email protected] Tweet: @deepakthakral

Transcript of ModevCon: Monetizing Your App Beyond Banner Ads, Sponsored App Installs, and In-app Purchases

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Monetizing Your App Beyond Banner Ads, Sponsored App Installs, and In-app Purchases

Deepak ThakralVice President, Monetization

Email: [email protected]: @deepakthakral

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Agenda

1. App Monetization: Current State

2. The Case for App Re-

Engagement

3. Cross Promotion of App Function

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62% of App Developers

are below

APP POVERTY LINE

App Monetization:State of the Union

$500

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47%<$100

22%$500-$1000/mo.

19%$1K-$10K

12%>$10K/mo.

App Developers:Disappearing Middle Class*Source: VisionMobile

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47%<$100

22%$500-$1000/mo.

19%$1K-$10K

12%>$10K/mo.

App Developers:Disappearing Middle Class

Have Nothings

• Of this, 24% make $0

• 23% make <$100/mo.

• Not sustainable

*Source: VisionMobile

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47%<$100

22%$500-$1000/mo.

19%$1K-$10K

12%>$10K/mo.

App Developers:Disappearing Middle Class

Have Nothings

• Of this, 24% make $0

• 23% make <$100/mo.

• Not sustainable

Poverty Stricken

• 15% make $1-$500

• (62% below poverty line)

• Not sustainable

(hobbyists/explorers)

*Source: VisionMobile

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47%<$100

22%$500-$1000/mo.

19%$1K-$10K

12%>$10K/mo.

App Developers:Disappearing Middle Class

Have Nothings

• Of this, 24% make $0

• 23% make <$100/mo.

• Not sustainable

Poverty Stricken

• 15% make $1-$500

• (62% below poverty line)

• Not sustainable

(hobbyists/explorers)

Strugglers

• Apps are reasonably

successful

• Opportunity cost

*Source: VisionMobile

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47%<$100

22%$500-$1000/mo.

19%$1K-$10K

12%>$10K/mo.

App Developers:Disappearing Middle Class

Have Nothings

• Of this, 24% make $0

• 23% make <$100/mo.

• Not sustainable

Poverty Stricken

• 15% make $1-$500

• (62% below poverty line)

• Not sustainable

(hobbyists/explorers)

Strugglers

• Apps are reasonably

successful

• Opportunity cost

Haves

• Top 100 game could make

$10K/day

• Only 1.6% > $500K/app/mo.

• Top 5% make more than all

combined

*Source: VisionMobile

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$43.3M

22.8M

Cumulative sales

since June launch

Downloads

The EliteEx. Kim Kardashian Hollywood

Mobile SearchMonetizing Your App Beyond Banner Ads, Sponsored App Installs, and In-app Purchases

Freemium App

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The good news is that app usage continues to

increase…..

Advertising & Consumer dollars follow…

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Mobile App Usage is on the Rise

Average Apps Used and Time Per Person Per

Month

30

25

20

15

10

5

Q4 2011 Q4 2012 Q4 2013

18:18

23:02

30:15

26.826.523.3

Source: Nielsen

Time per person (h:m)

Number of apps

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Time Spent on

iOS & Android Devices

• 86% of mobile time is spent on apps

vs 14% on browsers

• Gaming is 32% time spent on

Android and iOS

• 17% of time is basically spent on

Facebook

*Source: Flurry

32%Gaming

14%Browser

8%Entertainment

11%Social

18%Other

86%Apps

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Mobile Advertising Growth

2014 Projection

2014 Growth

2018 Projection

$19B

78%

$58B

Mobile SearchMonetizing Your App Beyond Banner Ads, Sponsored App Installs, and In-app Purchases

*Expected to be 37.4% of digital media ad spend

*Display ads expected to contribute 50% spend

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$0.00

$10.00

$20.00

$30.00

$40.00

$50.00

$60.00

$70.00

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

US Total Media Ad Spending Growth, by Media,

2013-2018, % change

*Source: eMarketer

Mobile

Display

Search

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Majority of Ad Spending

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*Source: Flurry

Ad Spend Versus Time Spent on Mobile

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

Google Facebook Other Apps

18%

49%

17% 18%

65%

33%

Time Spent

Ad Spent

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So how can other apps focus on getting

more dollars from advertising & in-app

purchases?

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Typical Monetization Path

App Store

Downloads

Sign-In

App Install Campaigns

Download (Pay Per

Install)

Sign-In

Organic Promoted

Usage Usage

Discovery

Download

Activation

Usage

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Once you have Usage:

2. Offer In-App Purchases

• Games

1. Offer In-App Advertising

• Major Ad Networks

• 320 x 50 Small Banners

• 300 x 250 Large Banners

• Full Page Interstitials

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1. Offer In-App Ads

Banner Ads 300x250 AdsFull Page Interstitials

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2. Offer In-App Purchases

*Source: Angry Birds *Source: Kim Kardashian Hollywood

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How many users do you need to generate advertising revenue?

Description Metrics Assumption

Monthly Active Users 50,000 Installs will be significantly higher

Daily Active Users 10,000 20% DAU/MAU

Session Duration 20 minutes/day

Frequency/month 20 days/month

DAUs * Duration * Freq 4,000,000 Total Minutes

Ad Impressions 8,000,000 2 ad imp/minute

eCPM for ad impressions $1 average '1000 imps

Average Monthly Revenue $8,000 Ad Imp * eCPM

ARPU - monthly actives $0.16 Avg Revenue Per User

Annual Revenue/User $1.92 Annual Revenue Per User

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Chase Installs or Re-Engagement

Metric #

Install Campaign acquisition goal for month 5,000 installs

Average CPI x $2

Campaign cost $10,000 Total

Users Active users: end of month 1 2,500

Active users: end of month 4 500

True acquisition cost

(Campaign cost ÷ Active users)

$10,000 ÷ 500 = $20 per user

Revenue Monthly Revenue/User 30 min

x 30 days

= 900 ad impressions

x $1 eCPM

= $0.90/Month or $10.80 per year

Monthly In-App Purchases $1 x 12 months = $12 per year

Annual Revenue ($0.90 x 12) + 12 = $22.80

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Chase Installs or Re-Engagement

Metric #

Install Campaign acquisition goal for month 5,000 installs

Average CPI x $2

Campaign cost $10,000 Total

Users Active users: Month 1 2,500

Active users: Month 2 500

True acquisition cost

(Campaign cost ÷ Active users)

$10,000 ÷ 500 = $20 per user

Revenue Monthly Revenue/User 30 min

x 30 days

= 900 ad impressions

x $1 eCPM

= $0.90/Month or $10.80 per year

Monthly In-App Purchases $1 x 12 months = $12 per year

Annual Revenue ($0.90 x 12) + 12 = $22.80

Annual Revenue: $22.80

Acquisition Cost: $20

Net Profit:

< $3 per user

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The Case for Re-Engagement

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Installs ≠ Usage

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Discover

y

Usag

e

Downloa

d

Alternative Paths?

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Alternative Paths?

Discover

y

Usag

e

Downloa

d

Re-Engagement

The biggest challenge facing app developers is waking up their dormant users

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Two Paths for Re-Engagement

• User re-targeting Deep Linking

• Discovery Deep Search Deep Linking

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How does app re-targeting work?

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Shops

Clothes

Views Movie

Trailer

Views Flight

to Hawaii

Views

Resorts in

Maui

Sue

32 years old

Loves to travel

Collect non-PII

Device

Information &

activity

Mobile Targeting

co. bids on ad

exchanges for

this Device

Show a deep

view/deep link to

the destination

app

Shopping

App

Movie App

Travel App

Hotel App

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The capability to understand the

static and dynamic content of an app

and making it discoverable via a

search engine or contextual

placement

What is Deep Search?

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• Deep linking is a method for

launching a native application via a

link

• Deep linking connects a unique URL

to a defined action in a mobile app,

seamlessly linking users to relevant

content and functions

What is Deep Linking?

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Quixey – Alibaba Deep Search Integration on YunOS

• Exclusive provider of mobile deep search

for Alibaba

• Recently launched Deep Search in the

Food vertical for Alibaba’s YunOS

platform

• User can search for “Thai Food” – from

the deep views rendered, can deep link

into popular apps

• They can also call or look up driving

directions directly from the deep view

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TA restaurants

results geo-relevant to

phone's location

"Reserve" deep links

to TA booking page

Business listing deep

links to TA detail

page

Christine likes to search for Thai Food at lunch time in a mobile search

engine

Thai cuisine

search in Chicago

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So why should you create deep links for your app?

1. App SEO

• Enables your deep links to be discoverable by

mobile search engines such as Quixey

2. App SEM

• Enables you to promote deep views as ads.

3. Companies promoting deep linking ads

• Facebook App Engagement

• Twitter App Engagement

• Quixey Promoted Deep View Ads

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When considering re-targeting for your app campaign

1. Set your CPA goals

2. Consider a mobile analytics vendor for tracking

3. Pay for performance

4. Consider Privacy

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proprietary & confidential

AppURL is an open deep linking standard promoted by Quixey

Resourceswww.appurl.org

www.mobiledeeplinking.org

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Mobile is for Doing!How cross-promotion of app functions will

create the highway of the future mobile

ecosystem

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Kevin’s Family

Miami

*Source: Happy family iz happy by Frédéric de Villamil / CC BY-SA

2.0

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Kevin’s Family

Miami

*Source: Happy family iz happy by Frédéric de Villamil / CC BY-SA

2.0

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Kevin’s Family

*Source: Happy family iz happy by Frédéric de Villamil / CC BY-SA

2.0

Flights

Hotels

Food

Activities

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Current Situation: Navigate through Each Individual App

*These are conceptual mockups used only to illustrate use case. They are not official designs.

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But we can do better…

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Solution: Connect a Grid System of Apps

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Solution: Connect a Grid System of Apps

*Source: Happy family iz happy by Frédéric de Villamil / CC BY-SA

2.0

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*These are conceptual mockups used only to illustrate use case. They are not official designs.

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*These are conceptual mockups used only to illustrate use case. They are not official designs.

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*These are conceptual mockups used only to illustrate use case. They are not official designs.

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*These are conceptual mockups used only to illustrate use case. They are not official designs.

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Creating a Seamless Experience

*These are conceptual mockups used only to illustrate use case. They are not official designs.

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How Can Your App be Cross-Promoted

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Games

What does this mean for the Developer?

Entertainment Social

Promote

physical

product

Activity ConcertSong GetawayChat

Promote

another

game

Finished

Level

MovieBook CabRestauran

t

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Quixey Functional Exchange (Currently in Beta)

Users

Ad

Impres

sions

Functional

Exchange

Promoted Deep Links

Promoted Functions

Search Engines

Publishers

Travel

Local

Entertainment

Shopping

SUPPLY ADVERTISERS

Ad Exchanges /Supply Platforms

OEMs

Promoted Entities

TRANSFORMING THE MOBILE ADVERTISING LANDSCAPE

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Developer

NetworkValue creation for Developers

The Quixey Developer Network allows

developers to integrate into Quixey’s technology

to optimize performances and provide them with

the official deep linking standard via AppURL.US: developer.quixey.com

China: developer.quixey.com.cn

: appurl.org

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Recap

1. App Monetization: Current State• The disappearing middle class of app developers

• App usage is increase, adv dollars growing

• Need to focus beyond installs

2. The Case for App Re-Engagement• User re-targeting

• Deep Search

• Deep Linking

3. Cross Promotion of App Function• Think of new revenue streams

• Complimentary functions

• Promoted and Organic

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Monetizing Your App Beyond Banner Ads, Sponsored App Installs, and In-app Purchases

Q&A

Deepak ThakralVice President, Monetization

Email: [email protected]: @deepakthakral