Google Ad words

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Google Confidential and Proprietary 1 AdWords – Key Concepts Search Advertising 101 Filip Hracek Account Strategist

description

AdWords is Google’s flagship advertising product which offers pay-per-click (PPC) and site-targeted advertising for text, banner and rich-media ads. In this session you will get basic overview of the AdWords and how to use it to better optimize your advertisement on the internet and get more leads from your web site.

Transcript of Google Ad words

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Google Confidential and Proprietary 1

AdWords – Key Concepts Search Advertising 101

Filip Hracek Account Strategist

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Google Confidential and Proprietary 2

Content

1 Key Concepts of AdWords

2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search

3 The Google Display Network

4 Q & A

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What is AdWords?

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Rear-view mirror

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“We drive into the future using only our rear-view

mirror.” Marshall McLuhan (1911-1980)

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Print ads Internet banner ads

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Why is search impotant?

87% of visitors to a website come from search engines

source: Google internal

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Buying a new laptop

laptop

How does marketing via Google work?

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Google.com => Search

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One search box for all questions…

Web results

Video results (Steve’s famous Stanford commencement speech)

News results (Articles about Steve and Apple)

News archives

Images

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Natural Search Results

AdWords Ads

Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only

Online consumers use keywords to search for information

Google Search… and ads

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flights to barcelona

Online consumers use keywords to search for information.

Google Search… and ads… our core business

Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only

Headline: 25 characters

Description line 1: 35 characters

Description line 2: 35 characters

Display URL: 35 characters

Destination URL: 1024 characters

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Where do the ads show?

Google Confidential and Proprietary

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Natural Search Results

AdWords Ads

Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only

Google Search Property

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Natural Search Results

AdWords Ads

Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only

Google Search Partner

Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy

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Google Search Partners in Europe

Norway Netherlands

Belgium

Germany

Italy Spain

France

Portugal Turkey

UK

Switzerland

Denmark

Finland

Poland

Czech Republic

Bulgaria

Austria

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AdWords Ads

Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only

Google Content Property

Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy

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AdSense site

Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only

Google Content Partner

Ads are contextually matched to the theme of the page

AdWords Ads

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Contextual & placement targeting

Keyword / Contextual Targeting Uses your keywords to match the theme of your Ad Group to the theme of content pages

1

2 ‘Placement’ targeting The advertiser specifies the websites that they want to show their ads on.

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Largest global advertising network

The Google Content Network UK

•  Reach over 80% of Internet Users

•  1 Billion Daily Ad Exposures

•  27 Million Monthly Visitors

•  Thousands of Publishers

Source: comScore Custom Analysis, Nov 07

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How are ads ranked?

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Search engine marketing

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Search engine marketing can be efficient but it can also be inefficient.

relevant

targeted

measurable

inexpensive

irrelevant

too broad

“spontaneous”

expensive

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Search engine marketing

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Books at Amazon Millions of titles, new & used. Free 2-Day Shipping w/Amazon Prime! Amazon.com/books

BOOQ Laptop bags Vypers, Boas, Pythons, Mambas We’ve got them all. Fast shipping! www.pivotgear.com

Search engine marketing can be efficient but it can also be inefficient.

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Google Confidential and Proprietary Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only

Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC)

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Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC)

Charged up to max CPC

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Ranking formula

CPC – Cost per Click

CTR – The ratio of the number of times an ad is clicked divided by the number of times an ad is viewed (Impressions)

Max CPC

AdWords is based on an auction designed to reward relevance

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Google Confidential and Proprietary Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only

Ad rank = maximum CPC x Quality Score

£2.50 x 6 = 15 £2 x 6 = 12

£3 x 3.5 = 10.5

£5 x 2 = 10

£2 x 4 = 8

£2 x 3.5 = 7

£0.5 x 8 = 4

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Google Confidential and Proprietary Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only

Rewarding relevance

£2.50 x 6 = 15

£3 x 3.5 = 10.5

£5 x 2 = 10

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Google Confidential and Proprietary Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only

Rewarding relevance through Quality Score

QS determined by: •  Click-through-rate (CTR)

•  Relevance of ad text to keyword

•  Historical keyword performance

•  Landing page assessment

•  Other relevancy factors

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Science of Search Maximise profitable results from Google Search

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The Google Account Structure

AdWords account

Campaign Campaign

Ad group Ad group Ad group

Keywords Keywords Keywords

Ad Text

Ad Text

Ad Text

Ad Text

Ad Text

Ad Text

Ad Text

Ad Text

Ad group level •  CPC bids

Campaign level •  Daily budget •  Country and language targeting •  Network options •  Start and end dates

Keyword level •  Keyword CPCs •  Keyword URLs •  Position preferences

Keywords

Ad group

Account Level • Login Details • Billing information

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Account Limits

Level Limits

Active Campaigns 25

Ad Groups/Campaign 100

Keywords/Ad Group 2,000

Text ad/Ad Group No limit

Images/Account 50

Overall Account Keyword Limit 50,000

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Optimisation

1 Landing page quality

2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure

3 Match Types

4 Expanding keyword lists

5 Improving/writing ad text

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Landing Page Quality

Search: Cheap Holidays

•  Easy to navigate

•  Relevant to ad text

•  Unique content

•  Display product details

Cheap Holidays

Great deals on all destinations.

Lowest prices in the UK guaranteed!

www.holidays.com

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Optimisation

1 Landing page quality

2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure

3 Match Types

4 Expanding keyword lists

5 Improving/writing ad text

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Structuring Ad Groups

Create separate ad groups/campaigns for:

•  Specific themes

•  Best selling products

•  Brand/Company

•  Products/Services

•  Long-tail traffic

Ideas for structures:

•  Match the website

•  Match the products you sell

•  Organise by brand

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Official Google Products Great prices on Google Merchandise – Shop now! www.googlestore.com

Beach towel Google towels Golf umbrella

Google umbrella Google golf kit

Golf accessories Blue umbrella

Travel mug Flask

Google flask Alarm clock Alarm clocks Google clock

Google beach towels Blue travel flask

Lava lamp Google lava lamps Travel alarm clock

Red clock Golf umbrellas

Usb stick Usb drive

Google backpacks Laptop backpacks

Laptop bag Google rucksacks

Laptop case Google pens

Google pencils Mouse pad Mini mouse

Usb extender Pen sets

Google speaker Vase speaker

Small computer mouse Google mouse Memory stick

Google office equipment Modem cord

Cycling jersey Cycling top

Google hoody Google hoodie

Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper

Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing

Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt

Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap Google hat Fleece vest White t-shirt Polo shirts

Group Keywords

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Beach towel Google towels Golf umbrella

Google umbrella Google golf kit

Golf accessories Blue umbrella

Travel mug Flask

Google flask Alarm clock Alarm clocks Google clock

Google beach towels Blue travel flask

Lava lamp Google lava lamps Travel alarm clock

Red clock Golf umbrellas

Usb stick Usb drive

Google backpacks Laptop backpacks

Laptop bag Google rucksacks

Laptop case Google pens

Google pencils Mouse pad Mini mouse

Usb extender Pen sets

Google speaker Vase speaker

Small computer mouse Google mouse Memory stick

Google office equipment Modem cord

Cycling jersey Cycling top

Google hoody Google hoodie

Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper

Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing

Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt

Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap Google hat Fleece vest White t-shirt Polo shirts

Group Keywords - Better Google Accessories Great prices on Google Accessories – Shop now! www.googlestore.com

Google Office Equipment Great prices on Google Office Equipment – Shop now! www.googlestore.com

Google Wearables Great prices on Google Clothing and gear – Shop now! www.googlestore.com

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Group Keywords - Best

Google Beach Towel Great prices on Google Beach Towels – Shop now! www.googlestore.com

Beach towel Google towels

Google Bike Jersey Great prices on Google Bike Shorts – Shop now! www.googlestore.com

Cycling jersey Cycling top

Google USB Stick Great prices on Google USB Sticks – Shop now! www.googlestore.com

Usb drive Usb sticks

Google Golf Umbrellas Great prices on Google Golf Umbrellas – Shop now! www.googlestore.com

Golf umbrella Google umbrella Google golf kit Golf accessories Blue umbrella

Google Laptop Backpacks Great prices on Google Laptop Backpacks – Shop now! www.googlestore.com

Google backpacks Laptop backpacks Laptop bag Google rucksacks Laptop case

Google Hoodie Great prices on Stylish Google Hoodies – Shop now! www.googlestore.com

Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper Hooded tops

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Optimisation

1 Landing page quality

2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure

3 Match Types

4 Expanding keyword lists

5 Improving/writing ad text

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Keyword Matching Options

Match Type

How it must be entered in AdWords

The ad will show when

The ad will show when a user types the following

Broad Caribbean Cruise

All words containing this word or combination of words in any order is used as the query

Caribbean holiday Cruises Cruise holiday in the Caribbean

Phrase “Caribbean Cruise”

Keywords are typed in the exact order specified. But have other words before or after

Cheap Caribbean Cruise Caribbean Cruise deals Luxury Caribbean Cruise

Exact [Caribbean Cruise] Keywords must be only & exactly what the user types in

Caribbean Cruise

Negative Also Negative Phrase, & Negative Exact

- Tom - “Tom Cruise” - [Tom Cruise]

Ads will not appear when this search term is entered in the query

Add will not show if someone types: Tom Cruise

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Optimisation

1 Landing page quality

2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure

3 Match Types

4 Expanding keyword lists

5 Improving/writing ad text

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Choose all the right keywords

•  Core terms

•  Root & stem model

•  Singular & plural

•  Common misspellings (separate ad group)

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General Rules on Keyword Selection

What you don’t need to consider What you need to bear in mind

•  Keywords case (upper/lower)

Upper and lower case variations are not counted as separate keywords

•  Plurals may not be included in match types

•  Replication of keywords will lead to self-competition

•  Variations on accents not included

•  Misspellings not included

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Optimisation

1 Landing page quality

2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure

3 Match Types

4 Expanding keyword lists

5 Improving/writing ad text

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Writing Ad Text

Be specific!

•  Refer to USPs

•  Refer to location if needed

•  Use Dynamic Keyword Insertion

Create a Specific Ad Title

•  Have a brand presence

•  Include your best performing KW’s in the ad’s title.

Create Multiple ads and test, tweak & test

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1.  USPs: special offers, free / fast delivery 2.  Brand 3.  Prices 4.  Calls to Action 5.  2 – 4 creatives per ad group → auto-

optimization 6.  Dynamic Keyword Insertion

Buy Google Beach Towel White cotton towel with full colour Google logo. Buy for under £15! www.googlestore.com/uk

64MB Google USB Drive Sleek, silver-tone USB thumb drive Ultra-portable. Only £15 – Buy now! www.googlestore.com/uk

Buy Google USB Drive 64MB USB drive with Google logo Free delivery within 3 working days www.googlestore.com/uk

{KeyWord:Google Memory Stick} 64MB, ultra-portable USB drive Buy now at Google’s Official Store www.googlestore.com/uk

Official Google Towels 100% 2-ply woven cotton beach towel 36”x70” with Google logo. Buy now! www.googlestore.com/uk

{KeyWord:Google Towels} 100% cotton heavyweight beach towel Receive 25% discount on 3 or more! www.googlestore.com/uk

Hot tips for Creatives

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{KeyWord:Google Products} Great prices on Google Merchandise – Shop now! www.GoogleStore.com

Cycling jersey Cycling top Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google red logo hooded jumper Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap

Dynamic Keyword Insertion

•  Use the appropriate format:

{KeyWord: Default Text}   Upper case will determine format of

inserted keyword.

  Default text will be displayed when keyword isn’t allowed (e.g. character restriction)

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Budgets

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Optimize daily budgets Differentiate budgets by category of product / service

Measure performance (CPA) by product category and adjust budgets and bids to meet your goals

Campaign A Campaign B

Budget Profit Budget Profit

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Optimize daily budgets Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position

•  Typically Click Through Rate (CTR) increases with position

•  As CTR increases, more customers come to your site from the same number of impressions

•  Work out the highest profitable position for your ad text to achieve target volume and profit

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Optimize daily budgets Budget for maximum return

Users search and convert at all times of day, every day of the week, and every month of the year. As long as they are searching for you or your products,

you should always be found

The most efficient way of doing this is to raise your budgets and control your spend through CPC bidding

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Bids

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Optimise Bids Bid according to marketing goal

CPC for conversions

CPM for branding

CPMs needs to be high enough to win the auction for placement on a selected site as they compete with CPC automatic placements, they are therefore the most powerful

bidding option for branding campaigns with the goal of visibility vs. clicks.

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Optimise Bids Know the value of a click / impression

PC World Pink laptop Coloured Laptop

Dell PC World

Cheap Laptops

Laptops

Currys Tablet Laptops

Toshiba Portege

m400-11h

PCWorld Laptops

Laptops Coloured Laptops

Pink Laptops Comet

0 15 22 26 30 37 43 47 48 62 66

PCWorld Dell

DealTime Amazon

PCWorld Dell

Shopping.com eBay

Comet Kelkoo

Pixmania Dixons eBay

Pixmania Bizrate

MicroDirect

Misco Currys

Amazon Bizrate

Dell Lenovo Toshiba

PCWorld Dell Ebuyer

Comet Currys

PCWorld Sony Style

Nextag Dell

Pixmania

eBay PCWorld

PriceRunner

ebuyer

From “PC World” to laptop purchase at ebuyer in 66 days

First Search Purchase

Visi

ts Se

arch

es

Day

s

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Optimise Bids Know the value of a click / impression

Last click attribution undervalues crucial ‘assist’ clicks

All the glory All the work

Assist Last click conversion

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Creative & Structure

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Optimise Creative and Structure Use multiple creatives

Running 2-4 creatives can yield the optimal CTR for your account as AdWords can assess the best performing ads and give them priority

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Optimise Creative and Structure Tailor your ad text to the user’s needs

Ad texts are your chance to attract customers as well as set realistic expectations as to what the user will find if they click through to your site.

Book London Flights Great savings to be made on flights Out of London. Limited time only. www.londonflightsite.co.uk

Call To Action Special Offer

Save On Holidays Latest discounts, codes & offers! Up to 40% off high street prices www.holidaysite.com/specialoffer

Prices

Buy DVDs Online Get top box-sets and all the Latest movies from just £9.99 www.dvdstoresite.co.uk

Dynamic Keyword Insertion (DKI)

Low Apr Credit Cards Get 16.9% typical APR variable when You apply online, plus rewards www.creditsite.co.uk/cards

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Optimise Creative and Structure Keep trialling different creatives

User behaviour is dynamic and responsive to many external factors, e.g.: offline messaging, current affairs, the economic environment.

Changing your creative message at regular intervals allows you to showcase different product USPs and to differentiate yourself from the competition.

Trialling different creatives allows the creative to remain dynamic and may lead to uplifts in CTR (Click Through Rate).

Book London Flights Great savings to be made on flights Out of London. Limited time only. www.advertisera.co.uk

Save On Holidays Latest discounts, codes & offers! Up to 40% off high street prices www.advertisera.com/specialoffer

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Optimise Creative and Structure Mirror your website to structure your AdWords account

AdWords Campaign

Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group

Website

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Summary

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The Science of Search

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Key Takeaways

Add more keywords Always check for new keywords.

Match your ads to your website and advertising content

Monitor your site and conversion activity to determine value of keywords

Optimize bids and daily budgets Differentiate budgets by category of product / service

Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position

Budget for maximum return

Optimise creatives and structure Use multiple creatives

Tailor your ads to the consumers needs

Copy your website structure when building campaign structure

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Google Display Network

The Performance Network

The Performance Network

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What is the Google Display Network?

YouTube and Google Sites Doubleclick Ad Exchange Partner Sites

Sites Games Social Media Video Feeds Mobile

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The Biggest Ad Network in UK*

84%83% 83%

82%

79%

74% 74%

73%

68%

64%

GoogleContentNetwork

Microso:MediaNetwork

AOLAdverAsing(AdverAsing.com)

Yahoo!Network SpecificMedia 24/7RealMedia UnanimisNetworkAggregate

ValueClickMedia(vcmedia)

TradeDoubler AdconionMediaGroup

*By Unique Users Source: Comscore Media Metirx UK, April 2010

84% Internet User Reach

36M Monthly Unique Users

453 Average Impressions per User per Month

Hundreds of thousands of sites

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No penalties for late submission or campaign withdrawals

No contracts ever

No premiums on different formats (like image, video, rich-media) OR remarketing

Price set by market Ensures that you only pay the minimum needed for your ad position; No fixed, inflated pricing, you chose the level to start off at

You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing

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Precise targeting to reach your goals

Contextual Targeting

Placement Targeting

Remarketing

Where They Are Where They Have Been

Category Targeting

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Contextual Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on the content they’re reading using the most powerful contextual technology in the world

Google uses keywords and themes to find the right placements, showing your ads on pages that are the most suitable match for your message

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Category Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on our categorisation of thousands of sites

Choose from over 600 categories

Luxury Goods

Luxury Auto Sites Travel Sites

Golf Sites

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Placement Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on specific sites on the Google Display Network

You can select specific web pages, online videos, games, RSS feeds, and mobile sites to show your ads

AdPlanner allows you to search for specific sites based on the audience that you are targeting

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Remarketing 97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site.

Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009

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Remarketing

‘Our largest finance client has seen tremendous results from the GDN for a long time now. We were one of the first to use Google's remarketing technology, and it has been a boon to the operation. It has taken the overall performance to another level.’

Jessica Bender Digital Campaign Manager, PHD

97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site.

Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009

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Remarketing drove the highest conversion rate and the lowest CPA for Nexus One Display Campaign

•  Conversion rate for remarketing was 2.3x higher than the account average and CPA was 2.4x lower

•  Display ads performed the best. Remarketing display had 3.2x higher conversion rate than the account average for display.

•  Due to high performance, the team roughly tripled the remarketing budget in 3 months

Remarketing Case Study

Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009

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Google Display Network Our recommended solution for your marketing need

Direct Response Branding

Goal •  Drive Purchase, Downloads, Sign-ups and Leads

•  Create Awareness •  Generate Interest

Targeting •  Category Targeting •  Contextual Targeting •  Remarketing

•  Placement Targeting •  Category Targeting

Bidding •  CPC •  CPM

Ad Format •  Text •  Image, Promoted Video •  Rich Media

•  Image and CTP Video •  Rich Media •  InStream Video

How to get started today 1. Speak to your Display Sales representative about your campaign 2. Let us suggest the best way to access the network based on your objectives 3. We will help to build and execute an amazing campaign on the UK’s biggest ad-network!

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Add a different quote We use the Google Display Network for one of our largest Direct Response advertisers and it is consistently one of the best performing networks on our plan.

Tamara Cross Strategy Director, MG OMD

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Content

1 Key Concepts of AdWords

2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search

3 The Google Display Network

4 Q & A

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Thanks for your attention!

77

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Appendix Additional Slides

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Additional slides for core presentation

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Our Vision for Display Advertising

Performance Open Simplify

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Buyer logs in to AdWords or DFA, and specifies

desired inventory or reviews available opportunities

Seller makes inventory eligible for purchase

An auction matches each piece of eligible inventory to the highest bidding buyer. Alternately, buyers may

purchase reserved

Ad Exchange – What is it?

Ad Exchange Media Buyer Publisher

Auction

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Flexible site placement;

targeting options

#1 Online Advertising Network

Mass Media

Niche Media

# of sites

Reach

Across both mass-media and niche sites

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Overview of Targeting Options

Targeting Option How to use it When to use it Available Ad Formats Goal

Contextual Targeting

Select keywords to target ads to web content

You want to reach people engaged with pages focused on particular topic

Text, Image, Flash, Click-to-play video, 3PAS, Local business

Direct Response

Placement Targeting

Manually select placements on pages where you want your ads to appear

You want to reach a targeted audience in a specific set of environments

Text, Image, Flash, Click-to-play video, InStream Video, InVideo, 3PAS

Branding

Category Targeting

Select categories to target ads to groups of web pages with content focused on a specific subject

You want to reach a broad audience interested in certain types of content

Text, Image, Flash, Click-to-play video, 3PAS

Branding, Direct Response

Remarketing Target people who visited your website but didn’t convert

You want to reconnect to build brand loyalty and cement your brand message

Text, Image, Flash, Click-to-play video, 3PAS

Direct Response & Longer-term branding

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Audience Selection

DoubleClick AdPlanner

AdWords Placement Tool

YouTube Video Targeting Tool

Find relevant Sites & Videos

AdWords Keyword Tool

Search-Based Keyword Tool

Google Wonder Wheel

Develop keyword themes

Google Insights for Search

DoubleClick AdPlanner

GDN Planning tool

Find insights about your audience

Plan your campaigns with

the largest data set of audience behavior

on the internet

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•  Target people who have visited your website but didn’t convert •  Re-advertise to these people with a different message •  Bring them back to your website - engage them again

•  97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit* •  Target them on a network with more reach, scale & efficiency than any other •  84% of the UK online population can be reached on the Google Display Network •  You only target hot prospects that have previously engaged with your site •  No premium for Remarketing on the Google Display Network

*Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009

Remarketing

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Step 3: Start serving ads to your hot prospects •  Create Text, Display or Video ads •  Ads should be designed to persuade hot prospects to return •  Upload ads to AdWords •  Set the cost you are prepared to pay to get them to return (CPC) •  Check if you want to exclude any sites, categories or topics •  Go live!

Step 1: Set clear objective and tag your site •  Start with a simple strategy •  “Homepage” and “Thank You” page are a good place to begin •  Google Account Manager will email you 2 tags (a few lines of code) •  Copy and paste the tags onto the two pages •  You’re now collecting hot prospects!

Step 4: Reap rewards and scale up •  Test, learn and scale

Step 2: Google collects a hot prospects list •  Tags drop cookies on “Homepage” and “Thank You” page visitors •  Within 48h Google creates a list of visitor cookies for each site •  “Homepage” list - “Thank You” page list = “Hot prospects” list •  These hot prospects visited your Homepage but didn’t convert

Remarketing / How does it work

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Control the Environment with Brand Safety Features Negative Keywords

Use keywords to prevent your sites from appearing on particular themes of page content.

Site, Topic & Category Exclusions Prevent your ads from appearing on specific sites or

types of Google Display Network pages.

Above the Fold Targeting Exclude placements that may appear in a lower part

of a website requiring the user to scroll.

Ad Planner 1000 Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers that

are one of the largest 1000 publishers on the web.

Brand Select Filter Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers

algorithmically determined by Google as brand safe based on site quality.

Target IASH Bundle* Target an IASH approved bundle of sites on the

Google Display Network using Category Targeting.

* IASH bundle not yet available for targeting

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Google Confidential and Proprietary

Additional Topics - Ad Formats -

Page 89: Google Ad words

Full set of creative options to engage with users

Ad Format Sizes

Standard Image (JPG or GIF)

Standard Flash

Rich Media Flash

In-Unit Video

Click-to-play Video Ads

Banner: 468 x 60

Square: 250 x 250

Small Square: 200 x 200

Leaderboard: 728 x 90

Medium Rectangle: 300 x 250

Large Rectangle: 336 x 280

Skyscraper: 120 x 600

Wide Skyscraper: 160 x 600

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Google Confidential and Proprietary

Additional Topics - Pricing and Reporting -

Page 91: Google Ad words

You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing

CPC CPM

What? Pay whenever the ad appears

Pay when users click trough to your site

When? Campaigns in which you care

about visibility and track metrics such as impressions, reach, frequency and search uplift

Campaigns in which you care about clicks and track metrics such

as sales, leads and sign ups

The auction system guarantees the best possible price Conversion tracking and optimisation products are available at no extra cost

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Real-time Reporting and Controls to Maximize Results

Automate Optimization

•  Set your maximum CPA – let Conversion Optimizer do the rest

•  On average, a 21% increase in conversions and a 14% decrease in CPA*

•  Provide creative, budget and target CPA and let Auto Optimizer* drive conversions

•  Bid more on what works

•  Exclude what doesn’t work

•  Focus on profitable demos

•  Invest more in profitable hours

•  Manage frequency, maximize reach

Optimize Manually

* Source: Google Internal Analysis. This analysis compares the performance of Conversion Optimizer campaigns with a control set of campaigns and represents the average impact of Conversion Optimizer. The actual impact will vary from campaign to campaign.

Get daily reports on:

Site by site performance

Reach and Frequency

Conversions

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Domain- and URL-Level Reporting

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Google Confidential and Proprietary

Additional Topics - Sample Sites -

Page 95: Google Ad words

Google Display Network Sites Sample categories

Travel

Source: Google AdPlanner, Oct 2010, UK

Entertainment & Games News & Classified

Health & Beauty Finance Communities