DOTS Expansion Working Group Meeting Engaging Professional Associations in TB Control Paris, 15...

download DOTS Expansion Working Group Meeting Engaging Professional Associations in TB Control Paris, 15 October 2008 Dr J.M. Chakaya Chair, DEWG

If you can't read please download the document

  • date post

  • Category


  • view

  • download


Embed Size (px)

Transcript of DOTS Expansion Working Group Meeting Engaging Professional Associations in TB Control Paris, 15...

  • DOTS Expansion Working Group MeetingEngaging Professional Associations in TB Control

    Paris, 15 October 2008Dr J.M. ChakayaChair, DEWG

  • W O R K I N G G R O U P SGlobal Drug Facility

    Coordinating BoardPartnership SecretariatWHO Strategic and TechnicalAdvisory GroupDOTS expansionTB/HIVMDR-TBNew TBVaccinesNew TB Diagnostics

    New TB DrugsAdvocacy, Communications and Social Mobilization Working Group



  • DOTS Expansion Working Group (DEWG)

    Chairperson:Dr Jeremiah Chakaya, Kenya

    Secretariat: (WHO/HQ Staff)Dr Lopold BlancDr Malgosia GrzemskaMs Annemieke Brands

    Members: 22 High TB Burden Countries (HBC), Technical and Financial agencies, Experts, Community representatives PPM DOTS SubgroupChairperson:Dr Phil Hopewell, USA

    Secretariat: (WHO/HQ Staff)Dr Mukund UplekarDr Knut LnnrothDr Bethollet KaboruMs Monica Yesudian

    Members: Technical and Financial Agencies, National Programme Managers, Academicians, Private Sectors and Community RepresentativesChildhood TB Subgroup

    Chairperson:Dr Robert Gie, South Africa

    Secretariat: (WHO/HQ Staff)Dr Malgosia Grzemska

    Members: WHO, IUATLD, NIH, CDC, USAID, IPA, Representatives of Academic and Research Institutes and of HBC, Paediatricians in Clinical Practice DEWG Core Team

    Chairperson:Dr Jeremiah Chakaya, Kenya

    Secretariat: (WHO/HQ staff)Dr Lopold BlancDr Malgosia Grzemska Ms Annemieke Brands

    Members: KNCV, The Union, WHO, Chairs of sub-groups, USAID, CDC, GDF, NORAD/LHL, Country Representatives, Community Representatives

    Laboratory Strengthening Capacity Subgroup (now included into Global Laboratory Initiative together with the SRLN & proposed to become an independent working group)Chairperson:Dr John Ridderhof, USA

    Secretariat: (WHO/HQ Staff)Dr Karin Weyer

    Members: Supranational Reference Laboratory Network (SRLN), Laboratory ExpertsTB and Poverty Subgroup

    Chairperson:Ms Bertha Nhlema Simwaka, Malawi

    Secretariat: Dr Bertie Squire, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, United Kingdom

    Members: World Bank, WHO, Rockefeller Foundation, IUATLD, KNCV, LSTM, NTP Managers, NGOs engaged in TB and Poverty activities

    Structure of the DOTS Expansion Working Group

  • DEWG Meeting- PurposeTo mobilize professional associations to help foster effective collaboration between national TB programmes and private health care providers.

  • To sensitize leaders of professional associations on TB control to the Stop TB Strategy and ISTC. To share experiences on engagement of professional associations in TB control in diverse country settings. To provide a platform for exchange of ideas between national TB programme managers and leaders of professional associations for implementing ISTC.To discuss ways to enable professional associations to contribute to national and global efforts to control TB.Objectives