Adwords training social media forum 2010

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Workshop November 28, 2010 Elias Dabbas 1

Transcript of Adwords training social media forum 2010

Page 1: Adwords training social media forum 2010

WorkshopNovember 28, 2010

Elias Dabbas

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A bit about me…

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• Search and Search Partners• Content (Display Network)

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Search and Search Partners

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Search Partners

• Search engines using Google technology• Sites having a custom search powered by

Google5

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• Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site

• Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc…

Content (Display) Network

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Content (Display) Network

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Types of Ads

TextImageDisplay Ad BuilderVideoMobile (web)Mobile (call)

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Text Ads

• Headline: 25 characters• Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters• Display URL: 35 characters• Destination URL: 1,024 characters

– Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same

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Image Ads

Formats: gif, jpg, png, swf Sizes: 468 x 60 Banner 728 x 90 Leaderboard 250 x 250 Square 200 x 200 Small square 336 x 280 Large rectangle 300 x 250 Inline rectangle 120 x 600 Skyscraper 160 x 600 Wide skyscraper

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Display Ad Builder

• Customize your own ad online13

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• Automatic resizing for all available sizes15

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Video Ads (Click to Play)

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Mobile Ads – Smart Phones

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Wap Text Ads

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WAP Image Ads

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Account Structure

CampaignsAd groupsAds Keywords Destination URLsBids

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AdWords Account StructureWebsite1.com

Restaurants

Order Online

Great Deals from

great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Unbeatable Prices from

great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Order foodFood onlineOrder pizza

Bids

Destination URLs

Information

Concerts

Rock Concerts

Account

Campaigns

Ad Groups

Ads & Keywords

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Account

• One Google account• Accessible / manageable by several accounts• Different access levels

– Admin– Standard– Read Only – Email Only

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Campaign (Settings)

• Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function– Language– Network(s)– Geography– Daily Budget– Device– Scheduling

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Language Targeting

Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scriptsKeywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)Ad text can produce different responses

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Geographical Targeting

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Time of the Day / Day of the Week

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Campaign Best Practices

• Use a consistent naming convention– Make sure campaign name includes as many

useful parameters as possibleE.g. AR-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Display

• Separate search and content (display) • Separate PCs and mobiles

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Ad Groups

• Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords

Keywords: used carsbuy used carsused cars for sale used car dealers

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Ad Group Best Practices

• Keywords as closely related to each other as possible

• Always test more than one ad• Make sure you have a good relevant landing

page(s) for each ad group

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Ads

Ads relevant to specific keywords

Each ad group should be focused on a topic

Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords

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AdWords Account StructureWebsite1.com

Restaurants

Order Online

Great Deals from

great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Unbeatable Prices from

great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Order foodFood onlineOrder pizza

Bids

Destination URLs

Information

Concerts

Rock Concerts

Account

Campaigns

Ad Groups

Ads & Keywords

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Keyword Research

Keyword Tool Insights for SearchCompetition (Organic)Competition (AdWords)

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Keyword Tool

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Market Shares

Quizz:

Which is the most searched car on Google?

BMW, Mercedes, Toyota, Ferrari, Porsche

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Enter each keyword and analyze results

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Car Brand Market Shares

Car Brand Queries / Month Market ShareBMW 9,140,000 40.7%Toyota 5,000,000 22.3%Mercedes 3,350,000 14.9%Ferrari 2,740,000 12.2%Porsche 2,240,000 10.0% 22,470,000 100.0%

41%

22%

15%

12%10%

BMW

Toyota

Mercedes

Ferrari

Porsche

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Keyword Match Types

Broad match: coffee beansSimilar keywords, plurals, variations, synonymsCoffee bean, great coffee bean shop,

Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’Exact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee

beans

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Keyword Match Types

Exact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact string

of characters is searched for

Negative: -capuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you

don’t have

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• Shows relative popularity in countries and cities

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Competition – Organic (Natural)

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Competition – Paid(AdWords)

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Sponsored Links

Who am I competing with?How many competitors are there? How tough is the competition? Will I need to revise my targeting strategy? Use the preview tool

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AdWords Preview Tool

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Conversion Tracking and The Campaign Life Cycle

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What do I want my users to

DO?

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Conversion

Any task (action) you want users to complete when they come to your website

Purchase Upload a video

Upload a photo

Request a quote

Submit question

Refer a friend

Register

Submit Form

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Ad Landing Page + Funnel Thankyou Page

Step 1

Step 2

Step 3

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How Conversion Tracking Works

• Click ID includes information about campaign, keyword, ad group, ad text, etc…

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Conversion Code on Thankyou Page

• Users can only access the thankyou page if and only if they complete a specific action

• Number of visits to that page are considered conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR• Conversion Rate• CPM • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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Other Tools

• AdWords Editor• Google Analytics• Google Website Optimizer

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AdWords Editor

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Dashboard• Compilation of the site-wide traffic

data• Highly customizable• Should include the 6-8 main KPIs

you are tracking on a daily basis

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Visitors• Who came to my site? • Which countries did they come from? • How many times do they visit me per month? • How long do they stay on the site? • How many are unique? • What kinds of computers do they have?

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Traffic Sources• What medium is my traffic coming from?

Search engines, direct, referring sites, etc…

• What specific medium is my traffic coming from?Search engines: keywords, search enginesReferring site: exact URLs

• How effective is each source in achieving my goals?

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Content• Which pages did they view?

• Which content is the most popular?

• Which sections are working well?

• Are people searching on my site?

• Example: How popular is article #456245?

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Tracking Goals• Actions that you want people to complete on your site (conversions)

• Tracking goals indicates how good you are at satisfying customers, and how interesting they find your site

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Intelligence• New feature showing abnormal changes in numbers

• Guides you to hidden changes

• Alerts you to potential problems before they explode

• Alerts you to good news so you can build on it

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eCommerce Tracking• Special setup, helps give context to your sales figures, products, revenue,

conversion rate, etc…

• Helps you answer important questions Which traffic source is more likely to generate sales? How many days does it take a user to buy? Which keywords are more likely to generate bigger orders?

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Summary

• Search and Search Partners• Content (Display Network)

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Types of Ads

TextImageDisplay Ad BuilderVideoMobile (web)Mobile (call)

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AdWords Account StructureWebsite1.com

Restaurants

Order Online

Great Deals from

great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Unbeatable Prices from

great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Order foodFood onlineOrder pizza

Bids

Destination URLs

Information

Concerts

Rock Concerts

Account

Campaigns

Ad Groups

Ads & Keywords

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Keyword Tool

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Ad Langing Page + Funnel Thankyou Page

Step 1

Step 2

Step 3

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Tools

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