A brief view for Indian cashback and price comparison market
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Transcript of A brief view for Indian cashback and price comparison market
Marketing
Strategy
Price
Comparison
Cash back
Ad Creative
Cash Back
Educative
Product
Promoter
Digital Marketing
Campaign
Mobile ads
YouTube
Price Comparison Competitors: Junglee.com
Launched in: February 2012
Mysmartprice.com
Launched in: 2010
PriceDekho.com
Launched in: October 2012
Cashback Competitors:
CashKaro.com Launched in: November 2012
GoPaisa.com Launched in: 2013
Pennyful.in Launched in: March 2010
90
128
640
783
20163728
110
138
668 662
1982 3132
0
2
4
6
8
10
12
Junglee.com Mysmartprice.com Pricedekho.com Cashkaro.com Gopaisa.com Pennyful.in
Pop
ula
rity
= 1
00
0*(
1/A
lexa
Ran
k)
Competitors
ALEXA Rank Popularity
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
JUNGLEE.COM MYSMARTPRICE.COM PRICEDEKHO.COM CASHKARO.COM GOPAISA.COM PENNYFUL.IN
Tota
l T
raff
ic f
or
Jan
20
15
(in
millions)
Total Traffic for Jan 2015
Junglee.com Mysmartprice.com Pricedekho.com Cashkaro.com Gopaisa.com Pennyful.in
26.07
15.8950.32
3
0.45 4.27
Junglee.com
18.62
7.47
70.4
1.730.61 1.17
MySmartPrice.com
Direct Referral Search
Social Mail Display
6.65
3.5
89.61
PriceDekho.com
61.7516.34
15.28
3.09
1.8 1.73
Cashkaro.com
62.2516.62
10.22
6.63
3.81 0.47
Gopaisa.com
Direct Referral Search
Social Mail Display
41.23
24.11
17.94
13.46
3.17 0.1
Pennyful.in
56
20
5
0 12.57
0.43 0.25
14
7.86
2.29
6.01
0.25 0.03
11.43
4
0.9
0
10
20
30
40
50
60
Junglee.com Mysmartprice.com Pricedekho.com Cashkaro.com Gopaisa.com Pennyful.in
PRESENCE ON SOCIAL MEDIA (FACEBOOK)
FB followers (in lakhs) Avg. FB posts per day Avg. Post Engagement
2889
1881
0
343
52 191881
076
11 7
475367
0
196
5 21
0
500
1000
1500
2000
2500
3000
3500
Junglee.com Mysmartprice.com Pricedekho.com Cashkaro.com Gopaisa.com Pennyful.in
Presence through Videos and Online Ads (Youtube)
Subscribers Total Youtube Videos Max no. of Views on any video (in thousands)
0
10
20
30
40
50
60
70
80
90
Junglee.com Mysmartprice.com Pricedekho.com Cashkaro.com Gopaisa.com Pennyful.in
50.3%
70.4%
89.61%
15.3%
10.2%
17.9%
Total Traffic by Search
Organic Keywords Paid Keywords
Traffic
•Has maximum traffic through Google Search compared to other Traffic channels.
•Focuses on SEM(Search Engine Marketing) and uses paid keywords as main mode of promotion
•Highest percentage share as compared to other price comparison sites’ direct traffic
•Direct Traffic is a measure of Brand Value Penetration which also includes Offline Marketing like TV ads and print Ads
Display Ads
•Highest % of Display ads as compared to other price comparison sites
•Signifies the investment made by Junglee to promote the traffic to it’s page
Social Media
•Social Media Presence very high as compared to other Price Comparison Sites’ competitors
Partners
•Quikr is the Strategic Partner of Junglee.com. They share the database for pre-owned electronics goods.
•Junglee include third Party Sellers apart from e-retailers and boost their sales as payment is made under brand name Junglee.
Traffic
•Major source of Traffic-Google Search
•SEO is major reason for high Google Search Traffic.
•MSP does not invest much in paid keywords
Marketing
•Email-Marketing has been prominent as compared to other PC sites due to mainly
organised listing of a good no. of deals in each mail.
News
•Product discovery will be a focus area, beyond price comparison
•Users Come Through Social Media, and Word of Mouth
•Use SEO for outreach.
•The new WhatsApp extension is a good move to increase accessibility
Traffic
•Search Traffic includes around 90%
of Total Traffic.
Social Media
•Less active on Channels like FB,
Youtube.
SEM
•No Paid Keyword used.
Traffic
•Major source of Traffic-Direct
•Traffic from Display Ads greater than as compared to other cashback sites
Online
Marketing
•Very Active in sharing posts on Facebook
•Sometimes, run campaigns ONLY on Facebook to incentivize users with extra cashback
•Total Videos and Engagement on Youtube is very high
•Content Play a pivotal in connecting with the audience
Offline Media
•Created a special Student Ambassador Program, seen a 200% growth in student
participation on Facebook and Twitter after the initiative.
•Successful TV ads launched on 3rd September 2014
Partnership
• Exclusive Cashback for shopping on Flipkart
via Gopaisa.com
Campaign
• Launches Unique National Campaign
“Paisebachao,Khushiyanbadhao”
TV Ads
• Successful TV ad launched on 3rd December
2014
Referral
•Traffic share in referral is maximum as compared to others
•Refer-a-Friend policy, wherein our customer gets 10 per cent of their
referrals’ cashback whenever they shop via Pennyful.in for one whole year,”
Withdrawing
Limit
•No minimum withdrawal limit at Pennyful.in
Online
Marketing
•Marketing and promotions mostly take place on the online space
Price
Comparison
•Recently Pennyful launched it’s Price comparison and product Discovery tool
leading to a high rise in Traffic within a week
Total 50% of online orders are coming from Mobile
Myntra gets about 60% of its traffic from second- and third-tier cities
Snapdeal declared that 65% of their orders come from mobile and by the end of the year, they expect the proportion to be in the whereabouts of 90%
According to IAMAI, 65% of internet users are e-commerce customers.
149
15
185
0
50
100
150
200
250
Feature Phone Users Smart phone Users
No. of people in millions (July,2014)
Phone users mobile Internet users
Junglee Mysmartprice PriceDekho Cashkaro Gopaisa Pennyful
App Yes Yes(Compare
Prices)
Yes No No No
Launched 8th
September
2014
11th Nov 2014 17th July
2013
rating 4.0 4.2 3.9
downloads 1 million 500 thousand 100,000
CPI(Cost per Install) of app in Android= Rs.18-62
CPC(Cost per Click)= Rs.1.25-9.25
CPM(Cost per 1000 impressions)=Rs.30.9-37.05
Source: www.wordstream.com
CPC – 4.5 lacsNo. of Clicks= 4.5 lacs/(avg. CPC)
= 90,000 clicksNo. of installations assuming 26% conversion rate = 23,400
CPM – 1.8 lacsNo. of impressions=1.8 lacs *1000/Lower limit of cost per impression = 58,06,000 impressions
No. of installations assuming 0.5% conversion rate = 7547 installations
CPI – 2.7 lacsNo. of installations = 2.7 lacs/ (avg. CPI)
= 6750
Total Installations = 37,650
Facebook covers almost 95% of digital marketing campaigns in social media of major players like Junglee and Cashkaro.com
Investing over two schemes:
Facebook Ads and Promoted Posts
Facebook ads has been a top performer in creating brand awareness and boosting our offers through Promoted Posts.
Therefore we propose an investment of 10 lacson this social media.
10 Lacs
FB Ads – 4
Lacs
Promoted
Posts – 6 lacs
• FB Ads have a broader reach including newer masseswhile Promoted Posts only appears if some of the FBfriends have engaged with the post or the pagepreviously.
• Although limited but Promoted Posts have a strongerimpact due to more trustworthiness through commonconnections.
FB Ads – 4 Lacs
Cost is analysed on CPM basis which is similar to any normal CPM (source: www.jonloomer.com)
Daily Avg. Budget = 4 Lacs/ 90 days = Rs 4400 /day
Taking CPM = Rs 50 as of Google Adwords
Total No. of Impressions = 4400*1000/50=88,000/day
Promoted Post- 6 lacs
Post
Boosting
Plan
Avg.
Monthly
Reach/post
Total
Posts
per
month
Time Period Estimated Reach
Rs. 62900 7.5 lacs 3 3 months 7.5*3*2=45,00,000
Allocated less than Facebook because conversion rate is 38% whereas that for Facebook is 89%
Facebook is regarded as a better site for promoting brand awareness than google(source- www.jonloomer.com)
Google adwords is inevitable and important as it caters to a larger mass, even to those who are not present in Facebook.
Organic Keywords Paid Keywords
shopsmart.com shopsmart
shopsmart shopsmart.com
shop smart samsung mobile
smart shop snapdeal coupons
cashback junglee
savings online shopping
price comparison cashback sites
coupons best price
discount iphone 6 price in India
samsung mobile pricedekho
Running Two Different Campaigns: ◦ Search Network – Redirecting Traffic
◦ Display Network – Creating Brand Value
Daily Average Budget: = Total Budget/ No. of days = 6 lacs/90 = Rs. 6600
Breaking the Investment:
Rs 6600
/day
CPM for Display
Network
(Rs 2400 /day)
CPC for Search
Network
(Rs 4200/day)
Search Network Budget: Rs 4200/dayNo. of clicks= 4200/ CPC = 4200 / 8
= 525/day (through all the paid keywords earlier mentioned) Display Network Budget: Rs 2400 /dayNo. of impressions= 2400*1000/CPM
= 2400*1000/50 = 48000 impressions /day
Assuming a low CTR of 1% we get 480 clicks per daythrough impressions.
Total Clicks = 1005/day (source for CPM and CPC: www.moz.com)
An innovative marketing strategy for youtube can be to advertise our brand and the cashback concept through online series being overwhelmingly appreciated by people across India.
Emotional Atya-charge, a video by TVF generated 22,00,000 views over 1.7 yrs in a mere cost of Rs 5Lacs to Freecharge for getting itself publicised.
Investing into productions like these can increase our reach manifolds than a normal ad on youtube would do. These productions have the potential of publicising any brand, at the same time telling people about the service that it offers as a part of their storyline. This would be an efficient way to compel people to use our service.
An investment in such a production can amount to Rs 5 lacs giving us an approach to more than 5 lacs viewers in 2 to 3 months thus costing us a rupee per view which is way cheaper than a youtube ad which may cost approximately Rs 15 per view.
http://trak.in/tags/business/2015/02/18/indian-ecommerce-growth-mcommerce/
http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report-m-commerce-will-drive-online-shopping-in-2015-2047922
http://www.business-standard.com/article/companies/of-price-comparison-discounts-and-deals-114092900069_1.html
www.similarweb.com
www.alexa.com
www.jonloomer.com
www.wordstream.com
www.heraldonline.com
www.moz.com
www.Wikipedia.org
www.rivaliq.com
www.similarsites.com
www.youtube.com
www.google.com/adwords/
www.facebook.com/business/
www.daysinfo.com
www.yourstory.com